(119)

The Winemaker's Wife

ljudbok och e-bok


“Love and betrayal, forgiveness and redemption combine in a heady tale of the ever present past” (Pam Jenoff, New York Times bestselling author) set amid the champagne vineyards of northern France during the darkest days of World War II. Perfect for fans of Kristin Hannah’s The Nightingale and Julia Kelly’s The Light Over London.

Champagne, 1940: InĂšs has just married Michel, the owner of storied champagne house Maison Chauveau, when the Germans invade. As the danger mounts, Michel turns his back on his marriage to begin hiding munitions for the RĂ©sistance. InĂšs fears they’ll be exposed, but for CĂ©line, half-Jewish wife of Chauveau’s chef de cave, the risk is even greater—rumors abound of Jews being shipped east to an unspeakable fate.

When CĂ©line recklessly follows her heart in a desperate bid for happiness, and InĂšs makes a dangerous mistake with a Nazi collaborator, they risk the lives of those they love—and the champagne house that ties them together.

New York, 2019: Liv Kent has just lost everything when her eccentric French grandmother shows up unannounced, insisting on a trip to France. But the older woman has an ulterior motive—and a tragic, decades-old story to share. When past and present finally collide, Liv finds herself on a road to salvation that leads right to the caves of the Maison Chauveau.

A spellbinding and exceptional tale of love, courage, and betrayal, “once you start reading this moving novel, you will not be able to put it down until you reach the last page” (Armando Lucas Correa, author of The German Girl).



4.2

119 recensioner

Karoline

2023-03-17

Ok book but terrible readers with bad french and german accents

Polina

2022-11-18

Helt fantastisk bok, ville inte att den skulle ta slut

Vilma

2021-09-03

Lite lĂ„ngsam i vissa delar. Lite enerverande nĂ€r karaktĂ€rerna beter sig sĂ„dĂ€r klassiskt dumt 🙈