The Anthology of the Greatest Horror Classics


Wilhelm Hauff's 'The Anthology of the Greatest Horror Classics' is a veritable compendium of seminal works that have shaped the horror genre, each story echoing the uncanny and the macabre with its distinct literary voice. The collection plunges readers into the chilling depths of the human psyche, threading classic narratives from the 18th to the early 20th century. Works from the likes of Mary Shelley, Edgar Allan Poe, and Bram Stoker feature prominently, offering insight into societal fears and philosophical reflections through eloquent prose and complex characters. Hauff's curation bridges the evolution of horror, from Gothic tales to the emergence of psychological horror and cosmic dread, providing a panoramic view of the genre's metamorphosis within its literary context.

Wilhelm Hauff, himself an accomplished storyteller, demonstrates an encyclopedic knowledge of horror literature, having chosen tales that not only entertain but probe the darkness inhabiting the human condition. Likely drawing from his narrative sensibilities and expertise as a novelist and poet, Hauff selects stories that resonate with the subtleties of terror and the grotesque, ensuring the reader encounters both the celebrated and the obscure in equal measure. His own contribution, 'The Severed Hand', stands among these giants, subtlety signifying his understanding of and contribution to the genre's thematic corpus.

'The Anthology of the Greatest Horror Classics' is therefore recommended for both connoisseurs of horror and newcomers to the genre. Its breadth and depth are an invaluable resource for understanding the origins of literary horror and its continuing influence on contemporary fiction. Through lucid dreams and nightmarish visions, this collection promises to tantalize the imaginative faculties, inviting readers to explore the shadowy corners of the past where these timeless specters first took shape.

Författare: Wilhelm Hauff Författare: Charles Dickens Författare: Mark Twain Författare: Harriet Beecher Stowe Författare: Adelbert von Chamisso Författare: Oscar Wilde Författare: Robert Louis Stevenson Författare: Edgar Allan Poe Författare: William Hope Hodgson Författare: Joseph Sheridan Le Fanu Författare: John Buchan Författare: Louis Tracy Författare: Bram Stoker Författare: Anatole France Författare: Charlotte BrontĂ« Författare: Emily BrontĂ« Författare: Jack London Författare: Henry James Författare: ThĂ©ophile Gautier Författare: Arthur Conan Doyle Författare: Richard Le Gallienne Författare: Jane Austen Författare: Algernon Blackwood Författare: Ralph Adams Cram Författare: Thomas De Quincey Författare: John Meade Falkner Författare: Guy de Maupassant Författare: Thomas Hardy Författare: William Archer Författare: Daniel Defoe Författare: John Kendrick Bangs Författare: Cleveland Moffett Författare: Brander Matthews Författare: Marie Belloc Lowndes Författare: Sax Rohmer Författare: Horace Walpole Författare: Rudyard Kipling Författare: Lafcadio Hearn Författare: Ambrose Bierce Författare: Frederick Marryat Författare: Ellis Parker Butler Författare: Washington Irving Författare: Leonid Andreyev Författare: David Lindsay Författare: Nathaniel Hawthorne Författare: Grant Allen Författare: Arthur Machen Författare: Wilkie Collins Författare: William Makepeace Thackeray Författare: Thomas Peckett Prest Författare: James Malcolm Rymer Författare: Fergus Hume Författare: Edward Bellamy Författare: Walter Hubbell Författare: S. Mukerji Författare: Charlotte Perkins Gilman Författare: Leopold Kompert Författare: Richard Marsh Författare: Florence Marryat Författare: Catherine Crowe Författare: Marjorie Bowen Författare: John William Polidori Författare: Vincent O'Sullivan Författare: H. G. Wells Författare: Robert W. Chambers Författare: W. W. Jacobs Författare: M. P. Shiel Författare: E. F. Benson Författare: Jerome K. Jerome Författare: M. R. James Författare: E. T. A. Hoffmann Författare: George W. M. Reynolds Författare: H. P. Lovecraft Författare: Robert E. Howard Författare: Edith Nesbit Författare: Sabine Baring-Gould Författare: William Thomas Beckford Författare: Francis Marion Crawford Författare: Mary Elizabeth Braddon Författare: Mary Louisa Molesworth Författare: Mary E. Wilkins Freeman Författare: Nikolai Gogol Författare: Mary Shelley Författare: Elizabeth Gaskell Författare: Gertrude Atherton Författare: Edward Bulwer-Lytton Författare: Frank R. Stockton Författare: A. T. Quiller-Couch Författare: Olivia Howard Dunbar Författare: Ann Radcliffe Författare: Louisa M. Alcott Författare: Amelia B. Edwards Författare: Leonard Kip Författare: Matthew Gregory Lewis Författare: Fitz-James O'Brien Författare: Katherine Rickford Författare: Bithia Mary Croker Författare: Catherine L. Pirkis Författare: Émile Erckmann Författare: Alexandre Chatrian Författare: Pedro De Alarçon Författare: J. K. Huysmans Författare: H. H. Munro (Saki) Författare: Pliny the Younger Författare: Helena Blavatsky Författare: Villiers l'Isle de Adam Författare: William F. Harvey Författare: Fiona Macleod Författare: William T. Stead Författare: Gambier Bolton Författare: Andrew Jackson Davis Författare: Nizida Författare: Walter F. Prince Författare: Chester Bailey Fernando